Sunday, August 11, 2013

Pompeys Pillar east of Billings. William Clark of the Lewis & Clark expedition named this when he camped here in 1806. Carved his name on it, which is the only physical evidence that still remains from the expedition. It's named after Sacajawea's son who was the son of a French trapper. Clark called him the child Pomp or Pompey.

No comments: